Xbox One I heard the Xbox One will have a built in capture card.

Rocky55119

From
Minnesota
Hey! I'm new to the Xbox One forums and I thought my first post would be something I was a bit confused about. I heard the Xbox One would have a built in Capture Card to record your game play. Now this sounded great to me, but I heard some YouTubers say that it would only record up-to 4 minutes. Has anybody gotten any exact specs for this Capture Card or any news about it? Thanks

-Rocky

I think they call it Game DVR, or in Xbox One's case, "Upload Studio" which allows you to record 5 minutes of gameplay which you can later edit and even do voice-over for uploading and sharing with other people.

I'm not 100% on this, but I believe when you play a game the Xbox One is always recording the last 20 or 30 minutes, and using the upload studio you can pick any 5 minute section to edit/upload/share.

You should also know that Xbox One allows for live game streaming via Twitch. Using twitch, your stream is always recorded and saved on twitch.com under your account. I use this on my PC. In essence, you could record and save near unlimited about of gameplay videos to twitch, the download/edit them later, bypassing the 5 minute limit for Xbox One's built in DVR/Upload Studio.

Hey! I'm new to the Xbox One forums and I thought my first post would be something I was a bit confused about. I heard the Xbox One would have a built in Capture Card to record your game play. Now this sounded great to me, but I heard some YouTubers say that it would only record up-to 4 minutes. Has anybody gotten any exact specs for this Capture Card or any news about it? Thanks

-Rocky

There's a post in the news section on this, but basically its an in game DVR and it records 5 minutes of video. Microsoft said in the future they can change the capture time allowed. Don't forget you can always stream to twitch.