MMORPG's

I've been playing WoW for 7 years now and love it, but I am *not* going to recommend it as something to get into now.

Go with Guild Wars 2. Not only is it awesome and will give you a great mix of things to do....but it's a one-time cost. You won't need a monthly subscription like you do with WoW.

I found it more necessary to have a guild in WoW actually. With Guild Wars 2, I felt like it was awesome to be able to run around solo and still end up doing group events with people around me. It's not required to be in the same group, so you can still get the 'epic combat' fight without even knowing the people around you.

I actually got schooled for making that 'you need a guild in GW2' remark around GW2 players.

Some brilliant soul made a 'looking for group' GW2 website so you go on there and say what you want to do, and then anyone on any server in north america can invite you to join them.

So the net result is that you can party up with this website much faster than you can in-game with a guild. The downside is you don't know/trust the people in the party as they are probably going to be strangers?

I watched a demo of it on Sunday and my buddy went from needing a group to starting a dungeon in less than a minute cause everyone in the group was ready to go/hadn't been waiting for more players!

Well if you're new to a guild, chances are, those people are technically strangers to you, too. You never know who might screw you over, guild or no guild.

Do you know the url of the website? I'd love to be able to find people that way.

Got a bootleg copy of Guild Wars 2 over at a buddies. Going to get down on that this weekend sometime. Haven't played Guild Wars in years. Should be a fun experience.
I've been watching my good friend p,ay League of Legends too. Seems like a reasonably fun game, but not for me. If I did play on PC, I would play a two mouse set up. Yeah, it's a bit out there, but it's what would be most comfortable for that kinda game.