Vudu app failing on Xbox since early March

Gamewatcher

I posted much of the following to the Xbox community last week (revised to reflect recent findings), and the conclusion is that there is a problem with the VUDU streaming app and not my networking or ISP. I would love to know if anyone else is encountering this issue as so far VUDU has implied that they cannot reproduce it and suspect it's an issue with me or Xbox.

I have been grappling with this problem for nearly six months. Xbox support suggested posting to the Xbox forums/community so here I am.

This is fairly exhaustive so please bear with.

In early March, I took an update to the VUDU app on Xbox One X. It introduced a bug where the second thing I tried to watch would fail (no error, just those spinning blue spheres would go on forever). The first thing, whether a trailer, movie, or TV show would work fine. But if I stopped or finished watching something, it would fail.

Since I had two Xbox Ones, I was able to copy the old version of the app (v7.8.49.70) and, apart from annoying nag messages, it continues to work great. I also tested the latest PS4 app and this continues to play videos without issue.

Last month I finally landed an Xbox Series X and learned that Xbox One apps can't be copied to the Series X. All of the apps appear to be Series X native. And, yes, the issue exists on the Series X version of the app and because I wasn't able to secure one at launch or before March (despite many near misses!) I do not have the pre-March version of the app. So now I'm stuck switching to PS4 anytime we want to reliable watch VUDU content.

I have worked with VUDU on several calls and emails (also reported this more than once to Insider support using Report a Problem; my Xbox One X was in the preview program but I have held off on enrolling the Series X in it).